# AERA RESEARCH ON THE SUPERINTENDENCY SIG DISSERTATION OF THE YEAR 2012

### **Eligible Dissertations:**

The award is intended to encourage and recognize outstanding dissertation research appropriate to the field. Studies embracing "traditional" and or "non-traditional" conceptualizations and methods are welcome. Dissertations completed and formally defended and accepted **between November 1, 2010 and November 30, 2011** are eligible for consideration by the Dissertation Awards Committee. The recipients will be recognized at the 2012 AERA business meeting and will receive a <u>plaque and a monetary award of \$500</u>.

### **Evaluation Criteria:**

- 1. Significance and clarity of the problem investigated.
- 2. Adequacy of conceptualization and development of research questions.
- 3. Quality of review of relevant theoretical and research literature.
- 4. Appropriateness and rigor of research designs and methods.
- 5. Clarity of reporting finding/results.
- 6. Appropriateness of interpretation of the research for theory, policy, practice, and further research.
- 7. Quality and clarity of writing evidenced in the abstract and (for finalists only) the complete dissertation.

#### Submissions:

E-mail: Submit 1 (one) copy of each of the following to:

#### Mary Lynne Derrington mderring@utk.edu

## E-mail submissions must be received by November 30, 2011.

#### INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING:

- 1. The complete dissertation including all tables, figures, references, and appendices;
- 2. The dissertation abstract (as submitted to Dissertation Abstracts)
- 3. A complete mailing address, fax, telephone number, and e-mail address for the dissertation's author;
- 4. A statement from the dissertation director confirming the date of acceptance of the dissertation; and
- 5. A letter of nomination and endorsement from a professor/researcher who is familiar with the entrant's work. (Statements for 4. and 5. may come from the same person.)

#### Selection:

The Dissertation Awards Committee can select a single award winner per year\*. The Committee expects to complete its **selection by January 31, 2012.** The recipient(s) will be recognized at the Research on the Superintendency SIG Business meeting at the 2012 Annual American Educational Research Association meeting.

**<u>\*Note</u>:** Superintendency SIG Dissertation Awards will only be presented if the Committee reviewing nominations decides there is a deserving entry.

Inquiries Should Be Directed To: Mary Lynne Derrington <u>mderring@utk.edu</u> Dissertation of the Year Awards Chair or Meredith Mountford, <u>mmountfo@fau.edu</u> AERA Research on the Superintendency SIG Chair