2002 Annual Meeting



Outgoing AERA president Andy Porter delivering the Presidential Address.



Gloria Ladson-Billings and Bill Tate, outgoing editors of AERJ-TLHD, with Marilyn Cochran-Smith.

Highlights





Judith Schulman, winner of the Professional Service award.

Two winners of the Presidential Citation, Fred Newmann and Lloyd Bond. (A third winner— Mike Smith is not pictured.)



Outgoing editors Kenneth Strike (*Ethical Standards*), Virginia Richardson (*Handbook of Research on Teaching*, 4th ed.), and Larry Hedges (*JEBS*), with Marilyn Cochran-Smith.

Over 11,800 educational researchers attended the 2002 AERA Annual Meeting in New Orleans. Thanks to all for a great meeting!

Michael Kamil presenting the Research Review award to Robert C. Pianta. (The other winner, Karen LaParo, is not pictured.)





Presenter Mark Berends and winners of the Palmer O. Johnson Award, Barbara Nye, Larry Hedges, and Spyros Konstantopoulos.



Maenette Benham presenting the Willystine Goodsell award to winner Jane Butler Kahle.

40 EDUCATIONAL RESEARCHER



Larry Suter presenting the Outstanding Book award to Robin Alexander.

Other award winners include

Shirley Brice Heath, Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education; Richard Davidson, Decade of Behavior; Robert Slavin, Dewitt-Wallace/Readers Digest Distinguished Lecture; and Asa Hilliard, AERA Distinguished Lecturer.



William A. Mehrens, winner of the E. F. Lindquist award, with presenter Daniel Koretz.



Samuel S. Peng, winner of the Distinguished Career award, and M. Christopher Brown II, winner of the Early Career Contribution award.